Author Topic: "The Simplicity of Fighting"  (Read 2174 times)

Karazenpo

"The Simplicity of Fighting"
« on: June 03, 2004, 11:26:15 AM »
This topic has come up here and there on all forums at one time or another. I've always been very outspoken on it.  Let's delve into it again. The simplicity of fighting. Growing up, before any martial arts training, like many of you on this forum, I had my share of fights and good all out brawls. I wasn't a troublemaker but I hung 'uptown' with guys, partied, raced cars and chased girls, lol, so obviously, you will find yourself in 'situations' just from this type of exposure.  All the normal stuff guys do. When I was a brown belt my instructor got me a part time job with him working the door in a pretty rowdy club. They even needed a cop at the door.  Later, I became a police officer. Again, I'm sure several of my brother officers on this forum are smiling right now as they recognize themselves back in "the fog of youth", lol. Others, who may not be in law enforcement, may have also came up the same way as far as life experience in the real world goes. Now, I ask you, how simple is fighting? Man, I was browsing another forum the other day and looking at certain websites and you would think some of these people and systems were preparing themselves from an attack from a giant centepede! For the most part, you're going to be attacked by someone(s) with two arms and two legs, with or without a blunt instrument, edged weapon, flexible weapon (chain) or gun. The many on this forum with real world experience just look back on situations you have experienced or have direct knowledge of.  Also, look at the fights in athletic events and other 'caught on tape' assaults. The methods of attack are pretty redundant to say the least and pretty simplistic. Yet,  imho, certain systems out there today over-complicate it. I still say that's why boxers, kickboxers and good grapplers seem to always do extremely well in real situations. Sure they sh