Author Topic: Beyond Kicking and Punching  (Read 5157 times)

Offline Serene

• BlackBelt
  • Brown Belt
  • It Is What It Is
Beyond Kicking and Punching
« on: July 29, 2005, 05:40:15 PM »
Remember the day you started training and you thought what a cool art and you just couldn't get enough of it. Then one day you stopped taking and started giving. 

For those of you that are considering becoming an instructor or are already - IMHO there is a higher demand for us and its not just teaching self- defense.

Have a great weekend. 8)

Soifua,

Sifu Serene Terrazas
Head Instructor
Terrazas Kajukenbo
American Canyon, Ca.

juribe

Re: Beyond Kicking and Punching
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2005, 12:35:42 AM »
Although I am still a student, color belt, my instructors have begun "teaching me to teach" under their supervision.  Teaching is way harder than it looks--I have even more respect for my instructors now-- but it sure helps you to learn your own material: the "why," concepts, variations, etc.

returning student

« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2005, 02:24:08 AM »
I agree with you J.Uribe .I also had a talk with my SIFU. and after we talk I have alot more respect for him.I have a better understanding about the Martial Arts.And can`t wait to see what he will teach me  Saturday.I hope one day I will be as good or better instructor then he is because of the wisdom he gave me. 8)

Offline rockatear

• Blue Belt
  • "Study your teacher carefully", Professor Bones
    • JustThink.Us
« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2005, 01:29:32 AM »

....For those of you that are considering becoming an instructor or are already - IMHO there is a higher demand for us and its not just teaching self- defense.

Have a great weekend. 8)

Soifua,

Kajushodan,

First of all, I'm sorry I missed you at Sijo's Vallejo tournament.  I could only stay a short while (because of my injury) and so hope we meet someday soon.