Author Topic: Online Etiquette  (Read 8447 times)

Karazenpo

Re:Online Etiquette
« Reply #30 on: October 06, 2003, 08:43:05 AM »
Hot topic! ;)  The late Professor Cerio used the title 'Professor' in and out of the school. He was a firm believer in titles. I never used titles. One time when we were doing a police defensive tactics seminar together he pulled me aside and said something like nothing gets him more aggravated then hearing my students come up and call me "Joe". My response was that I've been a police officer for many years and have been called a lot of things, so I'm perfectly happy when someone just calls me "Joe" ;D He gave me a playful whack and we went back to the seminar. In all seriousness though, he bestowed the title of shihan on me and out of respect to him I spoke to my students and made sure titles were used at all his events but I am more informal at my schools. Don't get me wrong, the respect and discipline is enforced but I have been a little lax on the titles. After reading everyone's posts, I may go with the titles though. I do use the title 'shihan' on all my posts on all forums out of respect to the memory of the man that gave it to me. Grandmaster S. George Pesare informs  us individually how he wishes to be addressed. It will either be 'Chief' or 'Grandmaster'. I address him as 'Chief' in and out of the school. As far as the term 'hoale' goes, agreeing with Sigung Bishop, I too have heard it used as a term of endearment by some Hawaiians. I also see much controversy in the posts on the term 'redneck'. I've heard the term used a lot in reference to, let's say a working man's type bar down south but also where I come from, the New England area. I would have to say that when I hear of that type of bar, racism and intolerance to other peoples lifestyles comes into mind. So I do understand why some would most definitely take offense to that word. There is something that I often remind people of and that's the power of words. I recently tol