Author Topic: why do you go back to white ?  (Read 7948 times)

Offline Baythenee Htwe

• White Belt
why do you go back to white ?
« on: January 13, 2007, 01:39:16 PM »
Hello,

well i am not sure where to post this but i think General History is a good thread to post...
I am studying N. Kajukenbo Tum Pai Under Si bok Greg Hart for about 2 and half year now.  One day we were talking about the different color of the uniform in Tum Pai.  Blue with black stripe for black belt club, black with white stripe for master club, white with red strip for brown black to 1st degree black belt. then red with white stripe n all green lime color and gold and so forth but once you get to Grandmaster level your uniform become all white ... as if you go around the circle of a ying yang symbol, meaning you have complete understanding to a certain level of the art ... But each color of uniform has its meaning ....well anyways  my question is.... does anyone know why you have gone back to all white when you are at si jo level in tum pai?

Sorry if i made it sound all comfusing ...thank you for your time

BaytheneeHtwe

Offline Jason Goldsmith

• BlackBelt
  • Brown Belt
    • Tactical Kung Fu and MMA
Re: why do you go back to white ?
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2007, 02:42:39 PM »
In traditional kung fu, the belt ranking system was Black, Red, Gold, White.  In the Kajukenbo arts, this was incorporated into the black belt ranking system, where by from 1st-6th dan you have a black belt with red stripes for dans, followed by a gold belt with red accents as a professor (7th and 8th dan), and 9th is red and white.  10th dan (Sijo level), is pure white. 

The Tum Pai style I believe has taken this color scheme and adopted it to their own uses; hence you Sijo level being all white--which only Sijo Emperado can hold.
Sifu Jason Goldsmith
5th Degree, Wun Hop Kuen Do Kung Fu
Under GM Al Dacascos
Instructor--WHKD
Durham NC and Philadelphia PA
www.tkfmma.com

Vala Au