Author Topic: Teaching Yourself  (Read 6303 times)

ShaolinKempoSensei

Teaching Yourself
« on: March 19, 2003, 04:59:16 AM »
It is my belief that one needs a teacher for only so long.  Then they can 'become' their own teacher.  Yes, we can still learn from everyone.  Our students, our children, etc.  However, speaking in terms of Kempo, at what point do others believe you can begin to grow on your own (and keep growing) without your instructor with you all the time?

In my school I teach a curriculum up to 3rd dan.  At this point I tell my students that they should be able to take what they have learned and 'go off on their own'.  That doesn't mean they get kicked out of the school, but just that I won't be 'holding their hand' any longer.

I personally have been without a formal instructor for the couple of years.  (Hanshi Bruce Juchnik is my instructor currently, but I only have lessons with him a few times each year.)  However, I am still learning, growing and becoming a better martial artitst everyday.  I believe that is because I have been doing this for nearly 20 years.  I don't need someone to remind me to keep my knees bent, tighten my fist, ect.  I have developed the self-discipline to refine my movement, make it more efficient, etc.  

I welcome everyone's thoughts on this.  

« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by 1054443600 »

ShaolinKempoSensei

Re: Teaching Yourself
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2003, 06:02:38 AM »
Well, I can see no one wanted to respond to this.  I wonder why though.

Perhaps everyone agrees with me!!   ;D

Karazenpo

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2003, 06:58:05 AM »
You have a good point, Sensei Evans. From what I've discovered, many of the root arts of the old days basically had information up to black belt, some maybe to 2nd dan. Many notable instructors from the past teaching valid and respected systems today started with that much information and refined it into what they have today. ;)  Respectfully, Shihan Joe

Offline Nagi